The gift of the third week in August

Cherry tomatoes are my favorite garden vegetable. I eat them all year long, but they’re at their sweet, delicious peak from my garden in the third week of August.

It’s the time of year for the annual ode to cherry tomatoes. It was “Home sweet tomato” last year, and “A good time to appreciate good things” in 2010. In 2009, I was “Enjoying harvest meals.”

Besides picking them, they represent almost no work for me. My Beloved chooses the plants and plants them, and then the summer sunshine takes over. I thought the withering heat was going to do them in this year, but for the most part, they’ve bounced back in the more temperate weather of late. I must have picked three or four cups each of the past two days.

Yesterday, I enjoyed a tomato-basil frittata for breakfast, today I had cottage cheese and cherry tomatoes for lunch and then for supper, I roasted a whole bunch of these sweet red orbs and poured them over a dish of spicy shrimp and cheesy polenta. Wow! I love how the fresh ones pop in my mouth, and I savor their enhanced sweetness when roasted. Mouth-watering delicious!

Good things come in small packages indeed.

3 responses to “The gift of the third week in August

  1. Oh, a girl after my own heart! Thanks for this, and here is mine from last year’s drought: http://katharinetrauger.wordpress.com/2011/11/02/cheery-tomatoes/

    And here’s a motto for you:

    Knowledge is calling a tomato a fruit. Wisdom is never putting it in a fruit salad.
    :lol:

  2. I think you need to tell the story of your tomato snitch from Mom and Dad’s garden when we were waiting for the first one to ripen.!

  3. Pingback: Sweet 100s are our favorite tomato | Lydia Street

Leave a Reply

